Skip to content

The Sweetest Melody

The Sweetest Melody

David Sills & Michael Kanan
Gut String Records (GSR009) 

“Another believer in the concept that swing is essential, bal­lads are a thrill, and blues is part of the vocabulary, is Southern California tenor man Sills. This is his seventh CD (in my collec­tion), and I’ve long been an admirer of his musicianship, choice of material, and past playing mates such as Alan Broadbent, Gary Foster, and others. This time around, David and his classic, gor­geous tone have encountered pianist Michael Kanan in a duo setting. ” – George Fendel, Jazz Society of Oregon


1. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams 5:01
2. All the Things You Are 7:33
3. Gone With the Wind 6:23
4. Get Out of Town 6:34
5. Blues in Ten 5:09
6. Sweet and Lovely 4:45
7. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart 6:43
8. I’ll Be Seeing You 6:57
9. How Little We Know 5:21
10. Stairway to the Stars 5:51
11. Milestones 6:32


David Sills – saxophone
Michael Kanan – piano


“Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams” written by Harry Barris. “All the Things You Are” written by Jerome Kern. “Gone With the Wind” written by Allie Wrubel, Herbert Magidson. “Get Out of Town” written by Cole Porter. “Blues in Ten” written by David Sills. “Sweet and Lovely” written by Gus Arnheim, Harry Tobias, Jules Lemare. “I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart” written by Duke Ellington. “I’ll Be Seeing You” written by Irving Kahal, Sammy Fain. “How Little We Know” written by Carolyn Leigh, Philip Springer. “Stairway to the Stars” written by Mitchell Parish, Matt Malneck, Frank Signorelli. “Milestones” written by Miles Davis.