Skip to content

Eastern View


David Sills
(Origin 82437)


“With a solid organ trio backing him, tenor saxophonist David Sills grabs your attention with his very first solo on Eastern View ‘s opener, the Sills-penned (as are all the songs here) ‘New Break.’ The tune opens with an organ-supplied bass groove backed by shimmering cymbals; then the guitar and sax enter, peeling off some tangy mid-tempo lines, until the accompaniment pulls back and Sills steps out front, with a somewhat restrained (nicely so) and articulate, straightforward monologue in front of the always inspired trio.”– Dan McClenaghan, All About Jazz  (more)


1. New Break 7:57
2. Deep Sleep 5:26
3. Small Peaks 6:31
4. Stoned Eyes 6:30
5. Eastern View 6:28
6. Keys Found 5:08
7. Little Key 7:35
8. Tiger Tracks 7:18
9. Enomily 5:18
10. Cuttin’ Back 8:38


David Sills – saxophone
Larry Koonse – guitar
Joe Bagg – organ
Tim Pleasant – drums


All songs written by David Sills (Dasil Music, BMI).


Recorded and mixed by Scott Fraser on January 3-5, 2004.
Mastered by Mark Guenther at Seattle Disc Mastering.
Photography by Okhidei Otgonjargal.
Color photo by Jeann Young.
Layout & design by John Bishop.