Skip to content



David Sills
(Naxos 86070-2)

In the parlance of some, “The Bigs” refers to making the big leagues or the big time. With his newest release on the Naxos Jazz label, Bigs, David Sills demonstrates he is neither a small time composer nor a minor league jazz saxophonist. Of the ten excellently performed cuts on the CD, three are originals by Sills. Also making compositional contributions are sidemen, pianist Alan Broadbent, and guitarist Larry Koonse.  – Craig W. Hurst (more)


The guy’s a player, no question about that. Knows how to choose his sidemen too; they don’t come much better than Koonse, Broadbent, Oles and La Barbera. The ensemble meshes together like hand in glove, and every solo voice is crisp and eloquent. – Jack Bowers (more)


1. Bigs 9:02
2. Shark-eez 7:01
3. Who Can I Turn To? 5:33
4. I Wanted To Say 6:21
5. Zingaro aka Portrait In Black And White 8:16
6. Grunions 5:33
7. Star Jasmine 6:24
8. Waiting For Charlie 5:09
9. I’m Glad There Is You 8:30
10. Mahindo 8:15


David Sills –tenor saxophone
Larry Koonse – guitar
Alan Broadbent – piano
Darek Oles –bass
Joe La Barbera –drums


“Bigs,” “Shark-eez” and “Grunions” written by David Sills. “Who Can I Turn To?” written by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley. “I Wanted to Say” written by Victor Lewis. “Zingaro A.K.A. Portrait In Black And White” written by Antonio Carlos Jobim. “Star Jasmine” written by Larry Koonse. “Waiting for Charlie” and “Mahindo” written by Alan Broadbent. “I’m Glad There Is You” written by Jimmy Dorsey and Paul Madeira.